top of page

The Berger Prize is
the leading book prize for art history.


To enter, and for any enquiries, please email


A book is eligible where it meets these criteria:

  1. It is on the subject of British art history, conceived broadly to include fine arts, decorative arts, architecture, collecting and patronage, in Britain or by a British artist.

  2. It was published in hard copy by any publisher during the preceding calendar year (1 January t 31 December).


  1. Eligible books are judged by a panel of six assessors which includes two Trustees of the Walpole Society. Biographies of the jury are published here.

  2. A Long List of 12 titles is established by assessment of all nominated works.

  3. A Short List of 6 works is chosen from the Long List.

  4. An overall winner is chosen from the Short List.

  5. At the Prizegiving, the overall winner receives £5000 and the five other shortlisted books receive £500 each.


For rules and governance of the Berger Prize, see our policy below, and for further information please email



Nominations now closed

Longlist announced

28 June 2024

Shortlist announced

15 September 2024

Winner & prize ceremony

15 November 2024


  1. Titles may be nominated for the prize by their author(s), publisher or any associated organisation.

  2. Nominations should be sent to with the subject heading '2024 Berger Prize Nomination', to arrive by midnight on 28 March 2024.

  3. In the first instance, nominations must include a pdf containing (i) an abstract of the book; (ii) the contents page; (iii) any relevant press release and author information; (iv) contact details for the publisher's press office.

  4. At the nomination stage, publishers also undertake to supply judges with a complete pdf or hard copy of their nominated book, if so requested.

  5. Publishers of Long Listed titles undertake to provide a hard copy of their book to each of the six judges and to the Berger Collection Educational Trust (7 copies in total) on request.


  1. The Long List will be published at an event in London on 28 June 2024. Publishers of titles on the Long List will be informed in advance.

  2. The Short List will be announced on 15 September 2024 at an online event. Publishers of titles on the Short List will be informed in advance.

  3. The Berger Prize will be awarded at an event in London on 15 November 2024. All shortlisted authors, a publisher's representative and the prize's judges are expected to attend.

  4. In the year following their receipt of the prize, the prize-winning author will be invited to give two guest lectures: in Denver, Colorado, at the invitation of the Denver Art Museum; and in London, UK, at the invitation of The Walpole Society.

  5. The authors of all Short Listed works will be interviewed for the Walpole Society's podcast series.

  6. Authors and publishers of Short Listed and Prize-winning books are expected to co-operate in marketing and promotion of the Berger Prize.


Thomas Jones (1742-1803)

View on the River Wye, circa 1776 [detail]

Oil on board, 45.7 x 60.1 cm

Denver Art Museum (2019.14), gift of the Berger Collection Educational Trust

bottom of page